Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification: Introduction

The cybersecurity industry is projected to be worth over $10 trillion within the next five years. This means that it’s more important than ever for you to properly safeguard key information.

For those who are unaware, the United States Department of Defense has implemented a cybersecurity maturity model to help standardize how data stays protected. Those who work with or for the Department of Defense have begun pursuing a Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification to prove the level of education they have.

Let’s take a look at what you should know. And have an idea of CMMC levels and what you should know.

Glaciercs CMMC

What Exactly Is a Cybersecurity Maturity Model?

Put simply, maturity models or a collection of specialized best practices that a business follows in order to achieve a certain goal. The maturity aspect references the fact that businesses follow these models on a scale.

To elaborate, an organization that employs a low-maturity model would implement practices that are less involved or intensive. In contrast, a high-maturity model involves the implementation of the model’s practices to the fullest extent.

So, a cybersecurity maturity model refers to implementing different degrees of cybersecurity measures within your organization. As you might guess, a high-maturity model is required in order to fully protect sensitive information.

What Does It Mean to Get Certified?

Obtaining a Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification conveys readiness and capability in cybersecurity. As such, individuals who obtain this certification are often viewed as far more trustworthy and qualified when it comes to certain roles.

The certification draws from a large collection of different frameworks, inputs, and processes in order to provide a comprehensive education. The end result for the individual obtaining the certification is developing well-rounded skills and knowledge of major cybersecurity practices.

Who Needs to Get Certified?

Contractors who work directly with the Department of Defense can benefit from receiving the certification. Additionally, however, subcontractors who fulfill or execute Department of Defense contracts can also benefit.

By the year 2026, any contractor or subcontractor that works with or for the Department of Defense will require at least some level of certification. So, it’s in your best interest to pursue this obligation now if this situation applies to you.

As time goes on, contractors who have higher levels of certification will likely be a much more competitive force within their industry. This becomes increasingly true when working on projects or contracts that handle crucial information that must be safeguarded at all costs.

The Certification Framework

In order to better understand the benefits of receiving a Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, you will need to have a strong grasp of the framework it uses. This will allow you to have a better idea of what you can expect.

Let’s take a brief look at what you should know.

The Components

There are four primary components within the cybersecurity maturity model certification. These include:

In order to progress within your certification level, you will need to complete the required assessments for each component. So, there is a form of linear progression implemented in this certification, something that allows users to gauge their progress and development.

This is particularly important to note for those who only require a low level of certification. Although there are plenty of benefits associated with achieving additional certification levels, you will save the most time by completing only what is necessary.

Levels and Domains

There are 17 primary domains within the certification. These include core topics like recovery, physical protection, access control, etc.

Within these domains, there are different levels of practice. It’s important to note that not every domain spans all five certification levels. Personnel security, for example, only encompasses two levels and contains only two practices

Access control, on the other hand, spans all five levels and contains 26 practices. So, certain categories are emphasized more than others in relation to how crucial they are while on the job.

To have a better view of the certification as a whole, you can consider the following information:

  • There are 17 total domains
  • There are 171 total practice
  • There are five total levels of certification

Keep this in mind while moving forward in order to have a solid idea of what you can expect during the process. This will ensure that you are fully mentally prepared in order to handle the above obligations.

Afterward, you can reap the rewards for years to come and avoid complications that you may have otherwise encountered.

A Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Will Be Game-Changing

So, be sure to use the above information to your advantage. Once you obtain your Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, you’ll find that plenty of doors begin to open for you.

Want to learn more about what we have to offer? Feel free to reach out to us today and see how we can help.