meeting outdoor

A day in the life of entrepreneur & ceo


The OUSD for Acquisition and Sustainment developed the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification standard. It aims to counter cyber risks by standardizing how DoD contractors safeguard key information.

DIB organizations must establish suitable cyber security practices and processes to secure any sensitive Federal Contracts Information (FCI) as well as Controlled Unprotected Information (CUI) by contacting Glacier Consulting.

On a scale of one to five, organizations are assigned a cyber-security maturity score. This score measures the amount of trust placed in the organization by the DOD and influences everything from employment to contracts.

What is Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Compliance?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification maturation model applies to all companies in the DoD distribution network, including those in procurement, construction, and research, as well as those in the defense industrial base. This covers both prime contractors who operate directly with the DoD and contractors who collaborate with contractors to carry out DoD contracts.

Size and connection to a contract are irrelevant. There are no exceptions for small enterprises working on “minor” aspects of a contract. As a result, every contractor or subcontractor working with defense information must be ready for an assessment of their cybersecurity practices. Failure in accordance will not result in monetary fines, but certification is required to secure contracts.

Understanding CMMC Certification Levels

3.1. Overview of Certification Levels

Level 1 Level 1 companies practice basic cyber hygiene. Data needs to be error-free, including programs as well as technologies that store or handle sensitive data, such as personally identifiable information (PII), must have appropriate access restrictions. Standard practices such as concealing PII and information quality control assist you in meeting this level. For this level, the NIST standards recommend 17 fundamental security controls, and you can get brief information about this by consulting Glacier Consulting.

3.2. Level 2 – Advanced

The next level has 72 measures (which incorporate the level 1 controls), which account for slightly more than half the total NIST 800-171 controls. At this point, your organization must safeguard FCI as well as CUI in a way that can be repeated. At this level, auditing, media security, recovery and backup, upkeep, and system reliability are critical. The main distinction between levels 1 and 2 is the deployment of a data protection plan and processes.   

3.3. Level 3 – Expert

It includes 25 new ISO Certification Levels standards for sophisticated threat detection and prevention; this level is essential for businesses working with highly desired information. Companies must implement more advanced technologies, such as identifying anomalies, and be able to respond to threats in a flexible manner.

CMMC Compliance Requirements

  • Determine the Correct Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Mature Level for Your Company
  • Conduct a CMMC Self-evaluation to Determine Your CMMC Compliance Readiness
  • Make Use of Other Cyber Frameworks to Simplify CMMC Compliance Efforts
  • Create a CMMC Compliance Plan of Action as well as Milestones (POA&M).
  • To achieve CMMC compliance, create a System Safety Plan (SSP).

Organizations must prepare a system security strategy (SSP) that contains facts about every computer in the IT setting that stores as well as transmits restricted unregulated information in line with NIST 800-171 standards and CUI rules in order to achieve CMMC ISO Certification Levels compliance.

CMMC Certification Process

Examine Your Present Data and Technology

Collect as much data as possible on the present status of your security, such as user access control systems, software being utilized, and accessible security processes. Determine where CUI and FCI are stored, processed, and sent with the help of consulting experts from Glacier Consulting.

Create a Good Strategy

Then, based on the degree of certification you desire, develop a sound CMMC compliance program or strategy. Companies aiming for the greatest degrees of maturity, for example, will harden their computer systems and segregate technology dealing with highly confidential data from the remainder of their infrastructure.

Perform a Gap Analysis

Determine your present degree of cybersecurity maturity and what you need to do to get there. In accordance with the gap analysis, make the appropriate modifications.

Put Your Policy into Action

Set dates to examine your organization as a whole and train your workforce. Persistence is essential for hardening your infrastructure and quickly detecting and preventing threats.

Employ a Professional to Monitor Compliance

This person will work with the IT staff to ensure that all standards are fulfilled. They will also gather data and paperwork to demonstrate that your organization is safeguarding CUI.

Importance of CMMC Compliance Beyond Government Contracts

Companies that handle CUI and include a DFARS 7021 provision in their contract will need to reach CMMC level 2. This necessitates passing a third-party evaluation every three years. The Department of Defense has reversed past assertions that it will split level 2 criteria and allow for restricted self-attestation. Instead, all organizations pursuing level 2 will be required to self-assess each year and undertake a formal evaluation every three years by an approved C3PAO or qualified CMMC Assessor.

Compliance with Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Level 3 (Expert) will be required for companies managing the most sensitive information. These firms’ contracts will include DFARS 7021 provisions. To reach level 3, businesses must fulfill the security criteria outlined in NIST Standard Procedure 800-171 as well as a subset of the standards outlined in NIST the SP 800-172. 

The Department of Defense is currently considering how businesses pursuing level 3 certification will be evaluated with minimal ISO Certification Costs. To achieve compliance, these organizations will need to undergo a Defense Industrial Baseline Cybersecurity Assessment Centre (DIBCAC) audit.


Obtaining certificates necessitates dedication and investment, which pays off when it comes time to acquire accreditation. Government departments trust subcontractors with CMMC accreditation to preserve their data since they are aware of the stringent security procedures in place to protect their data. Obtaining that trust through an accreditation such as the CMMC by taking consultation from Glacier Consulting displays the business’s dedication to security and increases its worth as an established partner.

3 thoughts on “A day in the life of entrepreneur & ceo”

  1. This is the best tour on the east coast! It was amazing how many places we visited and what great memories we made!

  2. This was not our first time going to here. It is a great place to shop not too far from New York. We took the bus from Port Authority and traveled through the countryside to get there.

  3. We always stay at here when in town. The location is great, staff is wonderful and we love the overall feel. Beautiful view from the here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.